

Strategic Licensing Committee 25th January 2017 Item **2**Public

MINUTES OF THE STRATEGIC LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 7 JUNE 2016 10.00 - 10.20 AM

Responsible Officer: Emily Marshall Email: emily.marshall@shropshire.gov.uk Tel: 01743 257717

Present

Councillor Keith Roberts (Chairman) Councillors Peter Adams, Vernon Bushell, Dean Carroll, Peter Cherrington, Andrew Davies (Vice Chairman), Nigel Hartin, Roger Hughes, Duncan Kerr, Nic Laurens, Robert Macey, Vivienne Parry, Jon Tandy and Robert Tindall

1 Election of Chairman

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Keith Roberts be elected Chairman for the ensuing year.

2 Apologies

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Joyce Barrow.

3 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Andrew Davies be appointed Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

4 Minutes of Previous Meeting

RESOLVED:

That the Minutes of the meeting held on 30th March 2016 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

5 **Public Question Time**

There were no public questions received.

6 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members were reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they had a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

7 Appointment to Licensing and Safety Sub-Committee

The Committee were asked to confirm the delegated powers to the Licensing and Safety Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2016 to 2017 (see minute 10 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011) and to appoint its membership. Members were reminded that this Sub-Committee's powers were mainly used for dealing with matters concerning hackney carriage and private hire vehicles and drivers.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That, a standing Licensing and Safety Sub-Committee be established comprising 5 members of the Strategic Licensing Committee and with full delegated powers to discharge the Council's Licensing and Safety functions as set out in Annex A of the report to the Strategic Licensing Committee, see Minute 10 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011.
- 2. That the rules of the Licensing and Safety Sub-Committee be those that were set out in Annex B of the report to the Strategic Licensing Committee, see Minute 10 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011.
- 3. That Councillors Joyce Barrow, Vernon Bushell, Andrew Davies, Nic Laurens and Viv Parry, be appointed to serve on the Sub-Committee with Councillors Steve Davenport, Roger Hughes, Jon Tandy and Nigel Hartin (1 Conservative Vacancy) appointed as substitute Members.

8 Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005 Delegations and Administrative Matters

The Committee were asked to confirm the delegated powers of the Licensing Act Sub Committee for the municipal year 2016 to 2017 (see minute 11 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011). The Licensing Act Sub-Committee dealt with matters concerning applications made under the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005. The committee were also asked to confirm the method of appointing members (which could be three members of the Strategic Licensing Committee).

RESOLVED:

That the delegated powers of, and method of appointments to, the Licensing Act Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2016 to 2017 be as those agreed on 8th June 2011 (See Minute 11).

9 Exercise of Delegated Powers

Consideration was given to the report of the Team Manager – Operational Community Safety in relation to delegated powers to issue and amend licences. (copy attached to the signed minutes).

RESOLVED:

That the report of the Team Manager – Operational and Community Safety be noted.

10 Records of Proceedings Licensing Act Sub-Committee

The records of proceedings of the Licensing Act Sub-Committee meetings from February 2016 to April 2016 were received by Members (Copy attached to the signed minutes).

RESOLVED:

That the records of proceedings of the Licensing Act Sub-Committee meetings from February 2016 to April 2016 be noted.

11 Date of Next Meeting

It was noted that the next meeting of the Strategic Licensing Committee would be held on Wednesday, 28th September 2016 in the Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall.

Signed (Chairman)

Date: